Finding the Words to Press

A summer workshop: for you, from me

I have an announcement that I’m really excited to share; I’ll be delivering a workshop at WordCamp Brighton this August!

The workshop is called Finding the Words to Press and it takes place from 9:45am on Friday 17 August. We’ll be covering web content, blog posts and exploring ways to access the content from inside a client’s head.

I have been facilitating idea generation workshops with Mind Doodle recently and I love the collaborative learning environment, so this is going to be something really special for me. It’s a chance to deliver a dynamic workshop about my passion: writing, and it will be my first experience of hosting a workshop at a WordCamp.

During the two hour workshop*, attendees will learn:

  1. The right questions to ask and the best ways to ask them in order to get the content you need
  2. How to come up with ideas for blog posts to make sure a site gets seen
  3. Free tools to use and how to use them effectively
  4. Tips for how to test, review and improve copy

*There will be breaks and time for grabbing more coffee!

Get comfortable outside of your comfort zone

If you haven’t attended a WordCamp before and need a little encouragement, I can definitely recommend WordCamp Brighton as an excellent first choice.

This will be the third year of the event and the organisers make it a priority to ensure the event is accessible for all. I attended the event last year and I was really impressed with how the schedule was inclusive enough for me (technically-not-a-techy) to really make the most of talks.

I was drawn to the community and marketing talks (which are areas that I feel knowledgable about but are always interesting, particularly when the speaker is sharing a new perspectives or a personal experience), but I also felt invited to step outside of my comfort zone to learn about anything from the WordPress API to accessibility to coding as a career path.

WordCamp Brighton runs from Friday 17 – Saturday 18 August 2018 at the Clarendon Centre, with an afterparty at Patterns on Saturday night. Then on Sunday 19 August, there is an optional Contribution Day at The Skiff for those who want to get involved.

It only costs £30 for the whole conference, which is unheard of in the tech scene, but WordCamps are heavily subsidised by sponsorship so that attendees can have access to affordable tickets.

If you feel like coming along, grab a ticket here. If you’d like to join the workshop I’m leading, you can sign up once you have your ticket. You can check out the whole schedule here.

Meet my fellow Mind Doodlers

My team from Mind Doodle will be heading to Brighton too, and they’ll even have a stand at the event where they will be delivering live demos for attendees.

Mind Doodle 2.0 will have been rolled out by this point, so it’s a good time to find out what’s new, try out the latest features and chat to the team about the agile task manager extension. If you want to learn more about using a digital tool for idea generation, development, discussion and action, you know where to look!

Are you planning to attend WordCamp Brighton? Let’s arrange to meet up!

 

Leave a comment